Franklin Templeton Shootout Field Announced

Tournament host and World Golf Hall of Fame member Greg Norman announced the 24-player field today for the 27th Franklin Templeton Shootout, scheduled for December 7-12, 2015.

Seven of the top 30 players on the Official World Golf Ranking are scheduled to compete as the longest-running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event returns for the 15th year to Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples.

A year ago, Jason Day & Cameron Tringale held on to win by one stroke over Matt Kuchar and Harris English.

Jason Day and Cameron Tringale will return to defend their title. A year ago, the twosome held on to win by one stroke over the 2013 champions Matt Kuchar and Harris English, who will also return this year. Day and Tringale led by three strokes going into the final round. The team had only one birdie in the first eight holes but rallied with six birdies on the back-nine, shooting a 32-under-par 184 total, to win in wire-to-wire fashion.

The seven players in the field currently ranked among the top 30 in the world are led by Day and Open Championship winner Zach Johnson, who are ranked first and tenth respectively. They are followed by Kuchar, J.B. Holmes, Patrick Reed, Billy Horschel and Brandt Snedeker.

Five players will be competing for the first time in the Franklin Templeton Shootout—PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year Daniel Berger, Charley Hoffman, Danny Lee, Hunter Mahan and Patrick Rodgers. Berger, Hoffman and Lee finished the season among the top 12 in the FedExCup standings.

Jason Dufner, Retief Goosen, Graeme McDowell and Mike Weir—all major championship winners—will also be returning to the Franklin Templeton Shootout. As will Charles Howell III, Kenny Perry, Sean O’Hair, Rory Sabbatini, Steve Stricker and Gary Woodland.

Another group of players coming to Naples just finished competing in The Presidents Cup. Day and Lee were on the International team. Holmes, Johnson, Kuchar, Reed and Stricker (assistant captain) were part of the victorious United States team.

Among the 19 players who have previously played in the Shootout, seven have won the event and all of them have won in Naples. Including Day and Tringale, they are English, Kuchar, O’Hair, Perry (three wins) and Stricker.

The 24 players in the field have a combined 12 victories for the 2014-2015 season on either the PGA TOUR or Champions Tour. There are a total of 11 PGA TOUR victories and one Champions Tour win. Day leads the way with five wins. Hoffman, Holmes, Johnson, Lee, Reed and Snedeker each have one while Kenny Perry won on the Champions Tour. Collectively, the field has 116 career PGA TOUR victories.

Norman will not be competing in the tournament due to his announcing duties with FOX, one of the tournament’s television partners. Norman will once again join Joe Buck in the 18th tower announce booth when FOX airs the final round on Saturday. Norman, who founded the tournament in 1989, played in the Shootout a tournament-record 24 times. He will compete in the Tuesday and Wednesday pro-am event.

The pairings for the 12, two-man teams will be announced at the end of this month.